Thanksgiving Foods for Vegans
Free Coupons, Printable Coupons, Grocery Coupons Online - Still Couponing and Saving Money Year In and Year Out!

Thanksgiving Foods for Vegans

Posted on Wednesday, November 19th, 2014 at 7:00 am
Pin It

Harvest!Many of the foods that are traditionally served at Thanksgiving dinner are not suitable for vegans. This will make it really difficult for your family members or friends who are vegan to find something to eat on Thanksgiving. One option is for a host to serve an entirely vegan dinner. Another is to include several vegan alternatives to the traditional foods. It’s not as hard to do as you may think!

People who are vegan do not eat meat. They also do not eat any animal by-products. In other words, they do not consume foods or drinks that contain eggs or milk. Some vegans do not eat honey. Instead, they eat plenty of vegetables and fruits.

Vegan Alternative to Turkey
Vegans do not eat meat. Obviously, the Thanksgiving turkey is meat. One simple alternative is to serve Tofurkey either instead of the turkey or along with it. The ingredients in Tofurkey are:

Organic tofu, vital wheat gluten, and expeller pressed non-GMO canola oil.

The texture of Tofurkey is described as “meat-like”. It should be noted that is not safe for people who have celiac disease (or a gluten allergy or intolerance) because it contains wheat gluten.

Vegan Alternative to Stuffing
At first glance, one might assume that stuffing is vegan. Some stuffing recipes call for meat. Many do not. That being said, all versions of stuffing contain bread (which has both milk and eggs in it). Some stuffing also calls for an additional egg to be mixed into it.

Fortunately, there is a alternative! Savvy Vegetarian has a recipe for Vegan Stuffing. Ingredients include:

10 cups of ½ inch bread cubes (Pick a bread that doesn’t have milk or eggs – like ciabatta.), olive oil, minced fresh garlic, finely chopped onion, finely chopped celery, minced fresh parsley, dried rubbed sage leaf, dried thyme leaf, salt (optional), black pepper, 2-3 cups of vegetable stock (or water or veggie bouillon cubes).

Vegan Alternative to Sweet Potatoes
Sweet potatoes, all by themselves, are vegan. They stop being vegan when they include butter or milk and are served with marshmallows on top of them. Marshmallows contain gelatin, which is made from collagen that comes from animal by-products.

The VeganYumYum blog has a recipe for Candied Lime Sweet Potatoes. They are thinly sliced instead of mashed. Ingredients include:

Sweet potatoes, sugar, molasses, salt, fresh lime juice, zest from a small lime, minced ginger, black pepper, Earth Balance, and parsley or cilantro for garnish.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Good Tip: Saving money is important – especially if you have a lot of expenses like bills to pay, loans to pay off, and all the other things that drain your bank account. Figuring out a way to save money can feel tedious to some, and like a punishment to others. U.S. News suggests that you try one of these money saving challenges. The “No Eating Out for a Month” Challenge This one is self-explanatory. The goal is to avoid eating out for an entire month. This might be super easy for people who enjoy making meals at home. People who really enjoy dining out, or ordering food to be sent to their home, may struggle with this one. It’s worth a try because spending money on take-out is more expensive than buying groceries. The Pantry Challenge This one is a variation of the “No Eating Out for a Month” challenge. The goal is to use up all of your groceries before you buy more. It forces you to try and remember why you bought a food or beverage that you don’t know what to do with, and gives you the opportunity to find a way to use it. The one exemption to this challenge is the foods that have expired. Don’t eat them! Throw them in the trash. The “No Spend” Challenge Make a goal to avoid spending money during an entire weekend. The only exemption in this challenge is that you are allowed to pay bills. This challenge is interesting because it requires creativity. You must be creative and find workarounds for problems that you would typically solve by spending money. You may have a different outlook on spending after finishing this challenge.