Healthier Alternatives to Traditional Egg Nog
Free Coupons, Printable Coupons, Grocery Coupons Online - Still Couponing and Saving Money Year In and Year Out!

Healthier Alternatives to Traditional Egg Nog

Posted on Wednesday, December 10th, 2014 at 7:00 am
Pin It

Egg Nog is a traditional holiday treat.  The ingredients aren't allergy friendly or suitable for vegans.  Try these healthier egg nog recipes instead. Egg nog is one of the traditional holiday drinks that people enjoy in December. Traditional egg nog includes dairy and eggs. This can be problematic for people with food allergies and for those who are vegan. Instead of going without, try some of these healthier alternatives to traditional egg nog.

Traditional egg nog contains the following ingredients: milk, sugar, raw eggs, and spices (usually nutmeg). Sometimes, cream is added to the egg nog to make it thicker. Or, in some cases, gelatin is added instead. People have topped their egg nog with vanilla, whipped cream, or cinnamon. It is not unusual to serve an egg nog that contains alcohol (typically rum) to adults. One cup of egg nog can contain around 400 calories.

This list of ingredients leaves out a lot of people who either cannot safely consume them, or who chose not to do so. Fortunately, there are plenty of alternative recipes for healthier versions of egg nog.

Alternative to Traditional Egg Nog

Allergy-Friendly Egg Nog
Momables has an awesome recipe for those who want to enjoy egg nog but cannot have dairy, eggs, nuts, or gluten. It substitutes coconut milk for the dairy. It uses bananas, flax meal, and applesauce to thicken it. It calls for gluten-free vanilla. The recipe suggests either cinnamon, ground nutmeg, or cinnamon sticks as garnish. Those concerned about nut allergies can leave out the nutmeg.

Diet Egg Nog
The Nibble has come up with four different diet versions of egg nog. All of them are below 140 calories per glass (and some are even lower than that). The trick seems to be to substitute the milk with fat-free milk, and to replace the sugar with sugar free sweeteners.

Dairy Free Egg Nog
Wellness Mama has a recipe for dairy-free egg nog that can be made in two ways. You can choose from the “easy version” or the “traditional version”. Each recipe includes the same ingredients, but differs in the preparation. The recipe replaces the milk with coconut milk.

The Dairy Free Egg Nog recipe contains egg yolks and honey. This makes it unsuitable for vegans. It also isn’t a good choice for people who have egg allergies.

Vegan Egg Nog
Veggiful has a recipe for egg nog that is completely vegan. It calls for “plant milk” instead of dairy milk. To be specific, it suggests Soy Milky Lite. Coconut cream is used instead of dairy cream. It uses maple syrup for a sweetener instead of sugar.

Produce on Parade has another recipe for “The Best Vegan Egg Nog”. It uses full-fat coconut milk. Medjool dates are used as a sweetener. It uses cashews and xanthan gum to thicken it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Good Tip: Saving money is important – especially if you have a lot of expenses like bills to pay, loans to pay off, and all the other things that drain your bank account. Figuring out a way to save money can feel tedious to some, and like a punishment to others. U.S. News suggests that you try one of these money saving challenges. The “No Eating Out for a Month” Challenge This one is self-explanatory. The goal is to avoid eating out for an entire month. This might be super easy for people who enjoy making meals at home. People who really enjoy dining out, or ordering food to be sent to their home, may struggle with this one. It’s worth a try because spending money on take-out is more expensive than buying groceries. The Pantry Challenge This one is a variation of the “No Eating Out for a Month” challenge. The goal is to use up all of your groceries before you buy more. It forces you to try and remember why you bought a food or beverage that you don’t know what to do with, and gives you the opportunity to find a way to use it. The one exemption to this challenge is the foods that have expired. Don’t eat them! Throw them in the trash. The “No Spend” Challenge Make a goal to avoid spending money during an entire weekend. The only exemption in this challenge is that you are allowed to pay bills. This challenge is interesting because it requires creativity. You must be creative and find workarounds for problems that you would typically solve by spending money. You may have a different outlook on spending after finishing this challenge.