Gluten-Free Halloween Treats
Free Coupons, Printable Coupons, Grocery Coupons Online

Gluten-Free Halloween Treats

Posted on Wednesday, October 8th, 2014 at 7:00 am
Pin It

There are some Halloween treats that are gluten-free.  Read the ingredient labels for best results.  Another option is to make your own version.Halloween is a holiday that involves lots of treats, sweets, and candies. This can be really difficult for people (especially children) who have food allergies. The desire to participate in the fun, and enjoy some Halloween treats, is dampened by the concern that the sweets contain gluten. Are there any Halloween candies that are gluten-free?

3 Gluten-Free Halloween Treats

Candy Corn
The colorful candy corn that appears in stores in the fall is made by Brach’s. Here is a list of the ingredients that their candy corn contains:
Sugar, Corn Syrup, Confectioner’s Glaze, Salt, Honey, Dextrose, Artificial Flavor, Gelatin, Sesame Oil, Artificial Flavor, Honey, Yellow 6, Yellow 5, Red 3

The concern is what follows the list of ingredients on the Brach’s website:
“This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, eggs, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, and soy are used in the production of other products.” It might be safer to make your own candy corn instead. Use your best judgement.

We tend to think of the Marshmallow Peeps made by the Just Born company as an Easter treat. However, they do have Peeps that are for Halloween. The Just Born website Says that the modified food starch they use in their candies is corn starch. They are currently in the process of updating their packaging to indicate which ones are gluten free.

It is advised that you read the ingredients on a package of Halloween Peeps very carefully. Just Born sells some of their products in bulk to companies that repackage it. There is potential that the Peeps from those companies were repackaged in a facility that is not gluten-free. The way to tell the difference between the Peeps that are safe and the ones that aren’t is to read the package.

Mellowcreme Pumpkins
Mellowcreme Pumpkins is the name for those little marshmallow-like pumpkins made by Brach’s. The ingredients are not listed on the Brach’s website, but ShopWell has them listed:
Sugar, Corn Syrup, Confectioners Glaze, Salt, Gelatin, Dextrose, Honey, Artificial Flavor, Sesame Oil, Yellow 6, Red 3, Yellow 5, Blue 1

This list of ingredients is very similar to the Brach’s candy corn, and it has a similar warning:
“Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”

There is an alternative. Craftsy has a recipe that you can follow to make your own Mellowcreme Pumpkins. The website says that this recipe makes candies that are slightly sweeter than the original. It also notes that this is not an easy recipe to make and that it is important to follow the measurements and instructions carefully.

One Response to Gluten-Free Halloween Treats

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Good Tip: Saving money is important – especially if you have a lot of expenses like bills to pay, loans to pay off, and all the other things that drain your bank account. Figuring out a way to save money can feel tedious to some, and like a punishment to others. U.S. News suggests that you try one of these money saving challenges. The “No Eating Out for a Month” Challenge This one is self-explanatory. The goal is to avoid eating out for an entire month. This might be super easy for people who enjoy making meals at home. People who really enjoy dining out, or ordering food to be sent to their home, may struggle with this one. It’s worth a try because spending money on take-out is more expensive than buying groceries. The Pantry Challenge This one is a variation of the “No Eating Out for a Month” challenge. The goal is to use up all of your groceries before you buy more. It forces you to try and remember why you bought a food or beverage that you don’t know what to do with, and gives you the opportunity to find a way to use it. The one exemption to this challenge is the foods that have expired. Don’t eat them! Throw them in the trash. The “No Spend” Challenge Make a goal to avoid spending money during an entire weekend. The only exemption in this challenge is that you are allowed to pay bills. This challenge is interesting because it requires creativity. You must be creative and find workarounds for problems that you would typically solve by spending money. You may have a different outlook on spending after finishing this challenge.