Allergy Friendly St. Patrick's Day Foods
Free Coupons, Printable Coupons, Grocery Coupons Online - Still Couponing and Saving Money Year In and Year Out!

Allergy Friendly St. Patrick’s Day Foods

Posted on Wednesday, March 4th, 2015 at 7:00 am
Pin It

St. Patricks Day Hat and MoneySt. Patrick’s Day is a holiday that is celebrated with Irish music, parades, and certain foods and drinks that have become traditional to enjoy during this holiday. The music and parades can be enjoyed by anyone. The foods and drinks, however, can be a problem for people who have food allergies. Fortunately, there are some allergy friendly alternatives!

Dairy Free Shamrock Shake
The Shamrock Shake that appears at McDonalds in March is extremely popular. Some restaurants actually sell out of that product very quickly. It’s fun to enjoy a seasonal item that tastes sweet.

Unfortunately, the Shamrock Shake from McDonalds contains milk. This makes it unsafe for people who are allergic to dairy or who have lactose intolerance. has a “copycat recipe” for a dairy free Shamrock Shake.

It makes 2 servings. The ingredients include: 2 cups of soy ice cream, 1 and 1/4 cups of soy milk, some mint extract, and some green food coloring. What if you are allergic to dairy and soy? You might be able to substitute coconut ice cream and coconut milk for the soy in this recipe.

Gluten-Free Irish Soda Bread
Irish soda bread is another treat that people eat on or around St. Patrick’s Day. It is among the few that children can enjoy. Soda bread is typically made with wheat flour, which isn’t safe for people who have celiac disease to consume. It’s also not safe for people with allergies to wheat, or who have a gluten intolerance.

Betty Crocker has a recipe for gluten-free soda bread that takes ten minutes to prep and will serve 12. Instead of using wheat flour, use 2 cups of Betty Crocker All-Purpose Gluten Free Rice Flour blend.

It also calls for gluten-free baking powder, which sounds a bit redundant since baking powder contains cornstarch (which is gluten-free). You are also going to need some xanthan gum. The rest of the ingredients are ones that you would expect in Irish soda bread.

Corned Beef and Cabbage
Cabbage, like all vegetables, is gluten-free. Beef is also gluten-free. Sometimes, the spices used in corned beef and cabbage are not gluten-free. has a gluten-free recipe for corned beef and cabbage that serves 6 people (and will yield some leftovers).

The recipe uses peppercorns. It also recommends you use gluten-free pickling spices. Everything else in the recipe is either meat, vegetable, or butter. Those allergic to dairy can omit the butter, since it is only being used to brush onto the cooked vegetables.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Good Tip: Saving money is important – especially if you have a lot of expenses like bills to pay, loans to pay off, and all the other things that drain your bank account. Figuring out a way to save money can feel tedious to some, and like a punishment to others. U.S. News suggests that you try one of these money saving challenges. The “No Eating Out for a Month” Challenge This one is self-explanatory. The goal is to avoid eating out for an entire month. This might be super easy for people who enjoy making meals at home. People who really enjoy dining out, or ordering food to be sent to their home, may struggle with this one. It’s worth a try because spending money on take-out is more expensive than buying groceries. The Pantry Challenge This one is a variation of the “No Eating Out for a Month” challenge. The goal is to use up all of your groceries before you buy more. It forces you to try and remember why you bought a food or beverage that you don’t know what to do with, and gives you the opportunity to find a way to use it. The one exemption to this challenge is the foods that have expired. Don’t eat them! Throw them in the trash. The “No Spend” Challenge Make a goal to avoid spending money during an entire weekend. The only exemption in this challenge is that you are allowed to pay bills. This challenge is interesting because it requires creativity. You must be creative and find workarounds for problems that you would typically solve by spending money. You may have a different outlook on spending after finishing this challenge.