Ripple is a Non-Dairy Milk Made from Peas
Posted on Wednesday, June 8th, 2016 at 6:00 pm
There are plenty of alternatives to dairy milk out there. People who have an allergy to milk can substitute non-dairy milk, such as soy, almond, or coconut. What if you, or a family member, are allergic to all of those? There is a potential solution. Ripple is a non-dairy milk that is made from peas.
Ripple is a non-dairy milk that is high in protein, low in sugar, and loaded with nutrition. Ripple has 8 times the protein of almond milk and half the sugar of dairy milk. It is high in bioavailable calcium (and has 50% more of it than dairy milk does). It is also high in potassium and provides a good source of omega-3s. Ripple is lower in calories than dairy milk.
The consistency of Ripple is described as having a “creamy, delicious texture”. It is not thin, or chalky like some almond or soy or cashew milk can be. The bottle that Ripple comes in is 100% post-consumer recycled plastic that is 100% recyclable. That means Ripple is a healthy choice for people and also good for the planet.
Ripple is made from yellow peas. They are high in fiber, low in fat, cholesterol free, and a good source of protein. Making a non-dairy milk from peas has a substantially smaller carbon and water footprint than other kinds of non-dairy milk. Almonds are grown in the Central Valley of California – which is experiencing a drought. Peas are grown in the Midwest in an area that doesn’t need a lot of irrigation or fertilizer.
According to Ripple, its non-dairy milk takes 96% less water to make than almond milk, 99% less water than dairy milk, and 76% less water than soy milk. The carbon footprint of Ripple is 93% smaller than dairy. Despite what you might think, Ripple does not taste like peas. The creators of Ripple removed the things from the peas that “gives it that off-flavor and color”.
Ripple will retail at $4.99 for a 48 ounce bottle. Those of you who are interested in giving it a try should visit the Ripple website. Right now, you can get a coupon for Ripple if you put your name, email address, and zip code into the website. The coupon is redeemable at Whole Foods.
Like many other non-dairy milks, Ripple is lactose-free, dairy-free, gluten-free, and vegan. It is also nut free. It may be a safe alternative for families that include a family member that has celiac disease, is gluten-intolerant, is lactose-intolerant, or who is allergic to nuts, coconut, soy or dairy.