Ben & Jerry's is Making Vegan Ice Cream
Free Coupons, Printable Coupons, Grocery Coupons Online


Ben & Jerry’s is Making Vegan Ice Cream

Posted on Wednesday, March 9th, 2016 at 4:49 pm
Pin It


Ben and Jerry's LogoIce cream is a delightful treat for many people. It’s isn’t so great for those who are lactose intolerant or allergic to milk, though. People who are vegan do not consume dairy products. Ben & Jerry’s has a solution that will make a lot of people happy. They now make vegan ice cream!

People who choose to be vegan are doing it for many reasons. The word vegan refers to a food or material that is free from any animal products: no meat, milk, eggs, honey, wool, goose down, or leather. People who are vegan also avoid animal-derived byproducts, like whey, lard, or gelatin.

Ben & Jerry’s has started making ice cream that is 100% vegan certified. There are four different flavors that are rolling into stores this spring. They are: Non-Dairy Chunky Monkey, Non-Dairy Chocolate Fudge Brownie, Non-Dairy Coffee Caramel Fudge, and Non-Dairy P.B & Cookies.

Products that carry the Certified Vegan logo are products have been checked and been confirmed to be free of animal products or byproducts (and that have not been tested on animals). The Certified Vegan logo is administered by the Vegan Awareness Foundation.

Products with the Certified Vegan logo must:

* Not contain meat, fish, fowl, animal byproducts (including silk or dyes from insects) eggs or egg products, milk or milk products, honey or honey bee products.

* Involve no animal testing of ingredients or finished products by supplier, producer, manufacturer, or independent party

* Provide supplier verification that animal products were not used in the manufacturing of ingredients

* Contain no known animal-derived GMOs or genes used to manufacture ingredients or finished products.

The new Ben & Jerry’s Non-Dairy, Vegan Certified, ice cream flavors are made with almond milk as a base. The brownie in the Non-Dairy Chocolate Fudge Brownie flavor doesn’t contain eggs, dairy, or honey. The Non-Dairy, Vegan Certified, ice cream includes fair trade certified cocoa, sugar, bananas, coffee and vanilla. It does not contain any GMO ingredients.

One of the reasons why Ben & Jerry’s decided to make this new line of vegan ice cream was so that people who have committed to a vegan lifestyle can still enjoy an indulgent frozen treat. They also wanted to give people who cannot eat dairy something they could enjoy.

It should be noted that the vegan ice cream contains almond milk, which might not be appropriate for people who have allergies to nuts or tree nuts. The P.B. & Cookies flavor contains peanuts. The P.B. & Cookies flavor, and the Chocolate Fudge Brownie flavor, are not gluten free. All four flavors of Ben & Jerry’s vegan ice cream contain coconut.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *