Thanksgiving Dinner for Guests with Food Restrictions

Posted on Wednesday, November 16th, 2016 at 7:00 am
Pin It


Will you be making Thanksgiving dinner this year? Here is some advice about how to make your Thanksgiving dinner safe for loved ones with diet restrictions.Thanksgiving dinner is often celebrated with family and close friends. Some of your loved ones might have food restrictions that prevent them from fully enjoying dinner. Fortunately, there are some things you can do to make Thanksgiving dinner safe for all of your guests.

Thanksgiving Ideas for People with Food Restrictions

Tofurky is a vegan alternative to turkey. It contains no meat, dairy, eggs, or other animal products. There is a Tofurky gravy that is suitable for vegans. Tofurky is not safe for people who have celiac disease or a gluten allergy or intolerance. It also isn’t safe for people with an allergy to soy.

Some turkeys are not gluten free. That may sound strange, at first. Check the package to see if the turkey has been brined. The ones that are brined are injected with a solution designed to keep them moist. That solution often includes gluten. Brined turkeys are not safe for people who have celiac disease, a gluten intolerance, or a gluten allergy.

Most Butterball turkeys are gluten free. The Butterball Stuffed Turkey is not gluten-free. Some Butterball products are packaged with gravy packets. Those gravy packets are gluten free, too. The gravy contains rice flour instead of wheat flour and the modified food starch is corn based.

It is possible to make your own stuffing by using bread that is allergy friendly. Udi’s makes a gluten free white sandwich bread that does not contain wheat, gluten, dairy, or soy. It does contain eggs, though, which makes it unsuitable for people who have egg allergies or who are vegan.

Schar makes an Artesian Baker White Bread that is gluten free, dairy free, and egg free. It does contain soy, which makes it unsuitable for people with soy allergies. It also contains honey, which might not be good for people with bee or pollen allergies. Some vegans do not eat honey.

While you are making Thanksgiving dinner, it is very important that you keep all of the packages. Doing so allows guests who have food allergies or dietary restrictions to know, for certain, what exactly is in the food they are being served. This enables them to know what is safe to eat.

Keep in mind that some foods might have ingredients that are allergy-free for a specific guest – but unsafe for another guest. The food packages are important for another reason. Some foods are allergy-free but made on equipment that is shared with products that contain allergens. That could make a person who has celiac disease or a nut allergy very sick.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *